A first conviction for driving under the influence will result in a fine of not less than $500 or more than $1,000 and by imprisonment for a period of no more than 6 months. Florida law also gives the court the discretion to order mandatory IID installation for all first-time offenders, in addition to any other authorized penalties. Under Florida Statute Section 316.1937, if the court exercises this discretion, the installation period must be for at least six months.
Florida Statute Section 316.193 requires an Ignition Interlock Device to be installed on the vehicles of persons convicted of driving under the influence (DUI). A criminal defense attorney in West Palm Beach, FL, will fight to minimize any court-ordered requirement that the IID device is imposed on a vehicle.
Call the attorneys at Meltzer & Bell, P.A. today to discuss your DUI case. With offices in West Palm Beach, our DUI defense attorneys represent clients charged with a DUI throughout Palm Beach County, FL, and the surrounding areas of South Florida. Call (561) 557-8686 today to discuss your case.
Call (561) 557-8686 today to discuss your case.
Florida’s Requirements for Installing the IID
The following table summarizes Florida’s IID requirements:
If court ordered
1st Conviction if BAC is a >0.15, or minor in car
Mandatory for at least 6 continuous months
Mandatory for at least 1 year
2nd Conviction if BAC is >0.15, or minor in car
Mandatory for at least 2 continuous years
Mandatory for at least 2 years
Studies on Florida’s Ignition Interlock Devices
The Florida Legislature’s Office of Program Policy Analysis & Government Accountability conducted a study researching ignition interlock devices and DUI recidivism rates. An ignition interlock device prevents the start of a vehicle with a breath sample above .025, collects data, and records and stores visual evidence of device use.
Research shows that ignition interlock devices, while installed, were more effective at reducing re-arrest rates for alcohol-impaired driving when compared to other sanctions, such as license suspensions.
The study found the six-month recidivism rate for first-time DUI offenders that were not required to install an ignition interlock device was 1.74 percent. When compared, the recidivism rate for first-time offenders required to use the ignition interlock device was less with a rate of 0.34 percent.
The study also found that only 49 percent of Florida DUI offenders installed an ignition interlock device, as required, after completing their period of license revocation.
This article was last updated on Monday, November 11, 2016.