Even though citizens of the United States have been granted the right to bear arms, the state of Florida has several laws in place designed to limit and regulate firearm and weapon possession. Due to these extensive laws, individuals often unexpectedly find themselves facing criminal charges for illegal possession of a firearm.
If you have been charged with a gun or weapons crime, you could be facing serious time behind bars, and the permanent loss of your right to possess a weapon. In order to protect your freedom and rights, contact a Palm Beach criminal defense attorney.
Lawrence Meltzer and Steven Bell are dedicated criminal defense attorneys who are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. When you hire us, you are hiring a team of diligent defense lawyers who have experience representing clients who have been charged with firearm or weapons charges.
Call Meltzer & Bell, P.A. today at (561) 945-8484 to set up a consultation. We serve clients in West Palm Beach, Boca Raton, Delray Beach, Wellington, Lake Worth, Greenacres, Boynton Beach, Palm Beach Gardens, Belle Glade, Jupiter, Royal Palm Beach, Juno Beach and the surrounding areas of Palm Beach County. We also represent people in Miami-Dade and Broward Counties.
According to Section 790.053 of the Florida Statutes, it is illegal for an individual to openly carry a firearm or electric weapon unless he or she is licensed to do so. Violation of this law is considered a second degree misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to 60 days in jail, and/or a fine of up to $500.
If an individual who is licensed to openly carry a weapon, and he or she displays it in an angry or threatening manner, he or she can also face criminal charges.
Fla. Stat. § 790.01 states that is unlawful for an individual to carry a concealed weapon if he or she does not have a concealed weapons permit. This offense is considered a first degree misdemeanor, and carries a potential jail sentence of up to a year, and/or a maximum fine of $1,000.
If an individual carries a concealed firearm, he or she can be charged with a third degree felony. A third degree felony is punishable by up to a 5 year prison sentence and/or up to a $5,000 fine. Individuals who have been convicted of two or more violent crimes can face enhanced penalties.
It is not against the law for an individual to carry a self-defense chemical spray, nonlethal stun gun, or other nonlethal electric weapon or device that is designed for the sole purpose of self-defense.
In Florida, there are certain situations in which an individual can have his or her right to possess a firearm revoked. Some of these instances include:
If the individual possesses a firearm without having their right to bear arms reinstated, he or she can be charged with a second degree felony. A second degree felony is punishable by up to 15 years in prison, and/or a fine of to $10,000.
Anytime an offender commits a crime with the use of a firearm or deadly weapon, he or she can face enhanced charges or penalties. Some of the most common offenses that are committed with the use of a firearm include assault, battery, robbery, carjacking, kidnapping, and sexual assault. When these crimes are committed with the use of a firearm, they will often be classified as “aggravated” offenses.
Armed Citizen Project: The Armed Citizen Project is an organization that assists people in neighborhoods with high crime rates obtain firearms for their protection.
Gun Owners of America: This organization is a nonprofit organization that advocates to U.S. Congress to restore and protect Second Amendment rights.
National Rifle Association: The NRA promotes firearm ownership and advocates legislative bodies for gun rights.
If you have been arrested and charged with a gun or weapon related offense in Delray Beach, Lake Worth, West Palm Beach, Boca Raton, or anywhere in Palm Beach County, contact Meltzer & Bell, P.A.. These dedicated criminal defense attorneys will analyze the facts in your case and present the evidence in a way that is most favorable to you.
Call Lawrence Meltzer and Steven Bell to discuss your charges. We are available to be reached 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at (561) 945-8484. We will work around the clock to find errors made by law enforcement that could lead to have your charges reduced or dismissed.